Wednesday, October 8, 2014

MTV Renews 'Awkward' for 5th and Final Season

MTV has renewed its veteran comedy series Awkward for a fifth and final season. While an exact episode count has not yet been determined, season five will likely be split into two runs like its third and fourth seasons.

Showrunners Mike Chessler and Chris Albergheni - who replaced series creator Lauren Iungerich as co-showrunners at the start of the current fourth - will continue to serve in that capacity for the final run. The high school-set comedy stars Ashley Rickards, Beau Mirchoff, Molly Tarlov, Jillian Rose Reed, Brett Davern, Nikki DeLoach, Desi Lydic, Greer Grammer and Mike Faiola.

The second half of Awkward's fourth season is currently airing on Tuesdays at 10/9c.