Tuesday, March 3, 2015

TruTV Gives Series Order to 'Those Who Can't' as Its First Scripted Comedy Series

Amidst a network rebranding over the last few months, TruTV today gave a series to its first official scripted comedy series - Those Who Can't created by and starring Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl and Ben Roy. The order is for a 10 episode, which is set for a 2016 debut.

Set in Denver, Those Who Can't follows three dysfunctional high school teachers (Cayton-Holland, Orvedahl & Roy) who are as screwed up as the kids they teach. Maria Thayer co-stars as Abbey Logan, a new librarian who questions, denies and then joins in on the antics of her co-workers.

The series is being produced by Thank You, Brain! Productions and 3 Arts Entertainment. Executive producers are Cayton-Holland, Orvedahl, Roy, Tracey Baird, Krysia Plonka, Michael Rotenberg, Josh Lieberman, Eric Slovin, Angel Annussek and Rich Korson.

"Those Who Can't has exactly the kind of fresh, slightly off-kilter humor we're looking for as we venture into the world of scripted comedy," said Chris Linn, President and Head of Programming for TruTV. "Adam, Andrew and Ben have created a terrifically funny show that's a perfect fit for the new TruTV and our target audience of young adult viewers."