Monday, August 1, 2016

OWN Renews 'Queen Sugar' for Season 2

A month ahead of the new drama's series debut, OWN has ordered a second season of its latest original drama series Queen Sugar from Ava DuVernay. Additionally, it was announced that the second season will include 16 episodes - up from the Season 1 order of 13.

Based on the novel of the same name, Queen Sugar follows the lives of two sisters, Nova Bordelon, a formidable journalist and activist from New Orleans, and Charley Bordelon, a modern woman, who leaves her upscale apartment in Los Angeles and moves to the heart of Louisiana to claim an inheritance from her recently departed father - an 800-acre sugarcane farm.

The drama stars Rutina Wesley, Dawn-Lyen Gardner, Kofi Siriboe, Tina Lifford, Omar Dorsey, Dondre Whitfield, Bianca Lawson, Timon Kyle Durrett, Greg Vaughan, Nicholas L. Ashe, Ethan Hutchison and Marycarmen Lopez.

Ava DuVernay developed the series with Oprah Winfrey and Melissa Carter. Warner Horizon Television and Harpo Productions produce.

The drama makes its series debut with a two-night premiere on Tuesday, September 6 and Wednesday, September 7 - both at 10/9c.