Thursday, August 11, 2016

Showtime Renews 'Homeland' and 'Ray Donovan'

During his executive session at the Television Critics Association's summer press tour, Showtime president and CEO David Nevins announced renewals for hit dramas Homeland and Ray Donovan. Nevins also used the platform today to announce 2017 premiere dates for Homeland and Billions.

Hit drama Ray Donovan will return for a 12-episode fifth season in 2017. The drama is currently airing its fourth season - with the finale set to air on Sunday, September 11.

The drama stars Liev Schreiber, Paula Malcomson, Eddie Marsan, Dash Mihok, Pooch Hall, Steven Bauer, Katherine Moennig, Kerris Dorsey, Devon Bagby and Jon Voight.

Ann Biderman created the series. Executive producers are David Hollander, Mark Gordon, Bryan Zuriff and Lou Fusaro.

Hit drama Homeland will return for its 12-episode sixth season on Sunday, January 15 at 9/8c. The premium cable network has also ordered two additional seasons of the show - carrying it through at least its eighth season.

In Season 6, Carrie is back on American soil, living in Brooklyn, New York. She has begun working at a foundation whose efforts are to provide aid to Muslims living in the United States. The season will tackle the after effects of the U.S. presidential election, with all of the episodes taking place between election day and the inauguration.

Claire Danes, Mandy Patinkin, Rupert Friend and F. Murray Abraham return for the new season. They will be joined by new cast members Elizabeth Marvel, Hill Harper and Patrick Sabongui.

Alex Gansa and Howard Gordon developed the series. They executive produce with Chip Johannessen, Patrick Harbinson, Lesli Linka Glatter, Claire Danes, Michael Klick, Gideon Raff, Avi Nir and Ran Telem. Fox 21 Television Studiods and Teakwood Lane Productions produce.

Billions will return for its 12-episode second season on Sunday, February 19 at 10/9c.

The drama stars Paul Giamatti, Damian Lewis, Maggie Siff, Malin Akerman, Toby Leonard Moore, David Costabile and Condola Rashad.

Brian Koppelman, David Levien and Andrew Ross Sorkin created the drama.