Tuesday, September 27, 2016

FX Renews 'The Strain' for Fourth and Final Season

FX has renewed its original drama series The Strain for a fourth and final season, it was announced today. The final season will air in Summer 2017. An episode count has not yet been determined.

Executive producer Carlton Cuse said, "It is a true joy to work at FX where creative intentions always come first. Our original plan was for the series to last three years. Once we began telling that story it expanded to be more. After finishing the writing on season three, Guillermo, Chuck an I looked at our remaining story and felt the best version could be told in one more season. We have a fantastic plan for an exciting and climatic season four. We are deeply grateful to FX for supporting our vision and for allowing us to end the show on our own timetable."

"We sincerely thanks Carlton Cuse, Guillermo del Toro, Chuck Hogan and their creative team as well as the fantastic cast for three exciting seasons of The Strain," said Nick Grad, President of Original Programing, FX Networks. "Though we're sad to see it go, we fully support the way in which they are crafting the fourth season's dramatic conclusion."

In its third season, the drama stars Corey Stoll, David Bradley, Kevin Durand, Jonathan Hyde, Richard Sammel, Natalie Brown, Miguel Gomez, Max Charles, Ruta Gedmintas, Rupert Penry-Jones, Samantha Mathis and Joaquín Cosío.

Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan created the drama based on their novel series of the same name. They executive produce with Carlton Cuse, Gary Ungar, J. Miles Dale, David Weddle, Bradley Thompson and Regina Corrado. FX Productions, Carlton Cuse Productions and Double Dare You produce.