Tuesday, October 4, 2016

FX Renews 'American Horror Story' for Season 7

FX has renewed its original anthology series American Horror Story for a seventh season, it was announced today. No additional details were released about the seventh season except that it will debut in 2017.

"Ryan, Brad and their team of remarkable writers have done an amazing job of keeping American Horror Story endlessly inventive, shocking and entertaining, and we are honored to move ahead with them on the seventh installment," said John Landgraf, CEO, FX Networks and Productions. "The sustained success through six installments only proves how intensely the series resonates with fans. AHS confronts our deepest fears with unmatched suspense and style. Each new installment is a cultural event, hotly anticipated for its theme, imagery, cast and twists. We thank the creators and their team, the cast and everyone who has continued to make AHS such an extraordinary series."

The renewal comes just three episodes into the current Roanoke season. The sixth season opened to 5.6 million in the Adults 18-49 demographic and 11 million total viewers in Live+3 figures. The episode currently stands as the third most-watched episode in franchise history and the fifth highest-rated episode in the core demo.

The cast for the sixth season includes Kathy Bates, Sarah Paulson, Cuba Gooding Jr., Lily Rabe, André Holland, Denis O'Hare, Wes Bentley, Evan Peters, Cheyenne Jackson and Angela Bassett.

Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk created the anthology series. They executive produce with Dante Di Loreto, Tim Minear, James Wong, Jennifer Salt, Bradley Buecker and Alexis Martin Woodall. 20th Century Fox Television and Ryan Murphy Productions produce.