Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Netflix Sets Premiere Date for Limited Series '13 Reasons Why'

Making the announcement in a teaser video on Twitter and executive producer Selena Gomez's Instagram, Netflix has set the premiere date for its upcoming limited series 13 Reasons Why based on the novel of the same name. 

The streaming service will drop all 13 episodes of the series on Friday, March 31 at 12:01am P.T.

The series centers on a shy California high school student who finds a box of cassette tapes on his doorstep. The tapes were recorded by Hanna Barker, a classmate he had feelings for who committed suicide. The tapes are sent with instructions to pass them on to a list of students like a chain letter, and the tapes explain to 13 people how they played a role in her death.

The cast includes Dylan Minnette, Katherine Langford, Brandon Flynn, Christian Navarro, Alisha Boe, Justin Prentice, Devin Druid, Miles Heizer, Derek Luke, Amy Hargreaves and Kate Walsh.

Brian Yorkey developed the series based on the novel written by Jay Asher. Yorkey executive produces with Selena Gomez, Tom McCarthy, Diana Son, Mandy Teefey and Kristel Laiblin. Anonymous Content produces.