Wednesday, February 22, 2017

FX Sets Premiere Date for Season 3 of 'Fargo'

FX has set the premiere date for the third season of its Emmy-winning original anthology series Fargo, it was announced today.

The 10-episode third season of Fargo will debut on Wednesday, April 19 at 10/9c.

The new season stars Ewan McGregor, Carrie Coon, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Jim Gaffigan, Michael Stuhlbarg and David Thewlis.

Set in 2010, the third installment of the anthology series centers on Emmit and his slightly younger brother Ray Stussy (both played by McGregor). Emmit, the Parking Lot King of Minnesota, sees himself as an American success story, whereas Ray is more of a cautionary tale. Forever living in his more successful brother's shadow, Ray is a balding and pot-bellied parole officer with a huge chip on his shoulder about the hand he's been dealt - and he blames his brother. Their sibling rivalry leads to a twisted path that begins with petty theft but soon leads to murder, mobsters and cutthroat competitive bridge.

Noah Hawley developed the series based on the film of the same name. He serves as executive producer with Warren Littlefield, Joel Coen, Ethan Coen, Adam Bernstein and Geyer Kosinski. FX Productions and MGM Television produce.