Friday, April 14, 2017

AMC Renews 'Fear the Walking Dead' for Season 4

Almost two months ahead of its Season 3 premiere, AMC has renewed its original drama series Fear the Walking Dead for a fourth season. Moreover, Andrew Chambliss and Ian Goldberg have been tapped to replace Dave Erickson as co-showrunners on the new season, which will debut in 2018.

Dave Erickson co-created the drama with Robert Kirkman. He served as showrunner for the first three seasons. It was announced a few weeks ago that he would be stepping down from that role to focus on developing new projects for AMC via an overall deal. The renewal hinged on the series finding a new showrunner - which it has with Chambliss and Goldberg.

Additionally, Scott M. Gimple - who serves as showrunner on the original series The Walking Dead - has boarded the spinoff as an executive producer.

"We're very excited to continue the journey of Fear the Walking Dead and truly look forward to working with the talented team of Andrew Chambliss, Ian Goldberg and Scott Gimple," said Joel Stillerman, President of Original Programming and Development, AMC and SundanceTV.

"We are thrilled to be joining Fear the Walking Dead and couldn't be more excited to work alongside the wonderful team at AMC on this show," added Chambliss and Goldberg. "We love this universe and are truly honored to have the chance to contribute to it."