Sunday, May 7, 2017

Netflix Renews '13 Reasons Why' for Season 2

It's now official: Netflix has renewed its original drama series 13 Reasons Why for a second season. The renewal announcement was made in a video released on Twitter. Season 2 will consist of 13 episodes, which will debut in 2018.

Based on the novel by Jay Asher, Season 2 of the drama picks up in the aftermath of Hannah Baker's death and the start of the characters' complicated journeys toward healing and recovery.

The series stars Katherine Langford, Dylan Minnette, Christian Navarro, Alisha Boe, Brandon Flynn, Justin Prentice, Miles Heizer, Ross Butler, Devin Druid, Amy Hargreaves, Derek Luke and Kate Walsh.

Brian Yorkey developed the series. He will serve as the sole showrunner in the second season, replacing Diana Son who served in the capacity for the first season. He executive produces with Tom McCarthy, Joy Gorman Wettels, Steve Golin, Michael Sugar, Selena Gomez, Mandy Teefey and Kristel Laiblin. Paramount Television and Anonymous Content produce.