Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Netflix Orders 10 Episodes of Period Comedy 'Everything Sucks'

Netflix has given a straight-to-series order to comedy series Everything Sucks created by Ben York Jones and Michael Mohan. The order is for 10 episodes, which will debut in 2018.

The comedy is a quirky, funny coming-of-age story that follows two groups of high school misfits: an A/V club and a drama club, who collide in 1996 Oregon.

The cast includes Peyton Kennedy, Jahi Winston, Patch Darragh, Claudine Nako, Sydney Sweeney, Elijah Stevenson, Quinn Liebling and Rio Mangini.

Jones and Mohan will executive produce with Jeff Pinkner, Scott Rosenberg, Josh Appelbaum and André Nemec. Mohan and Ry Russo-Young are set to direct the first season. Midnight Radio produces.

"Some of our favorite shows of all time - The Wonder Years, Happy Days, That 70s Show, Freaks and Geeks - looked back at bygone eras with 20 years of hindsight," said Jones and Mohan. "We think this is a great time to take a look back at high school and relive the fashion, music and attitudes of the mid-90s the way we remember it. Not sensationalized, not watered down; but desperate, heartfelt, awkward and exciting."

"We're looking forward to spending some time back in the 90s," said Cindy Holland, Vice President of Original Content, Netflix. "Whether you were in A/V, drama, sports or band, we think everyone will find something to relate to in this coming of age story about the one thing that sucks above everything else - high school."