Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Paramount Reveals Premiere Date for Limited Series 'Waco'

Paramount Network has today announced the premiere date for the upcoming limited series Waco - the new cable channel's first original scripted series.

The six-episode limited series will premiere on Wednesday, January 24 at 10/9c.

In February 1993, the eyes of the world converged on Mount Carmel, a small religious community located just outside Waco, Texas. The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF) had just conducted a massive raid on David Koresh and his followers, known as the Branch Davidians. After what became the longest gun battle in U.S. law enforcement history, four ATF agents and six civilians were dead and dozens more were wounded. A 51-day standoff ensued, and the conflict ended after an FBI assault led to a fire that engulfed Mount Carmel, killing 76 men, women and children. What precipitated the ATF raid, and what transpired over the ensuring standoff, remains one of the most misunderstood stories in American history.

The drama stars Michael Shannon, Taylor Kitsch, John Leguizamo, Andrea Riseborough, Rory Culkin, Melissa Benoist, Paul Sparks, Shea Whigham, Camryn Manheim, Eric Lange and Julia Garner.

John Erick Dowdle, Drew Dowdle, Salvatore Stabile and Sarah Nicole Jones wrote the series. John Erick Dowdle and Dennie Gordon directed the series. Executive produces include John Erick Dowdle, Drew Dowdle, Salvatore Stabile,Michael Shannon and Taylor Kitsch.