Friday, May 11, 2018

Syfy Cancels 'The Expanse' After 3 Seasons

Syfy has decided to cancel its original drama series The Expanse after three seasons, it was announced today. The season finale on June 27 will now serve as the series finale.

The drama stars Steven Strait, Cas Anvar, Dominique Tipper, Wes Chatham, Shawn Doyle, Frankie Adams and Shohreh Aghdashloo.

Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby created the drama based on the series of novels by James S.A. Corey. They executive produced with Naren Shankar, Broderick Johnson, Andrew Kosove, Sharon Hall, Sean Daniel and Jason F. Brown. Alcon Entertainment produced.

Because the show was completely owned by Alcon Entertainment, Syfy only had the rights to the first-run linear episodes in the United States. As such, that presented a limited upside for the cable network, placing an emphasis more on live and linear viewership than some of the other shows on the network. However, because Alcon owns the show, talks have already begun about selling the show to another outlet because it has been profitable for the company internationally.

"The Expanse transported us across the solar system for three brilliant seasons of television. Everyone at Syfy is a massive fan of the series, and this was an incredibly difficult decision," said Chris McCumber, President of Entertainment Networks, NBCUniversal Cable Entertainment. "We want to sincerely thank The Expanse's amazing cast, crew and all the dedicated creatives who helped bring James S.A. Corey's story to life And to the series' loyal fans, we thank you most of all."