Wednesday, August 8, 2018

OWN Renews 'Queen Sugar' for Season 4

OWN has today renewed its original drama series Queen Sugar for a fourth season. The drama will return with new episodes in 2019.

The drama stars Rutina Wesley, Dawn-Lyen Gardner, Kofi Siriboe, Omar Dorsey, Dondre Whitfield, Bianca Lawson, Nicholas L. Ashe, Ethan Hutchison, Henry G. Sanders and Tina Lifford.

Ava DuVernary created the drama. The fourth season will also see Anthony Sparks replace Kat Candler as showrunner. Warner Horizon Television and Harpo Films produce.

"Under Ava's creative vision and leadership, Queen Sugar continues to earn a well-deserved reputation for depicting nuanced characters, rich storylines and establishing an inclusive team that inspires and ignites much needed conversations about our society today," said Erik Logan, President, OWN. "We are very proud of this show, the incredible cast, producers and crew, and can't wait for more of the Bordelon family in season four."