Thursday, January 31, 2019

The CW Renews 'Arrow,' 'Black Lightning,' 'Charmed,' 'Legends of Tomorrow,' 'Dynasty,' 'The Flash,' 'Legacies,' 'Riverdale,' 'Supergirl' and 'Supernatural'

During its presentation at the Television Critics Association's winter press tour, The CW handed out early renewals to 10 of its original scripted series for the upcoming 2019-20 schedule.

The shows renewed today by The CW are Arrow (Season 8), Black Lightning (Season 3), Charmed (Season 2), Legends of Tomorrow (Season 5), Dynasty (Season 3), The Flash (Season 6), Legacies (Season 2), Riverdale (Season 4), Supergirl (Season 5) and Supernatural (Season 15).

Remaining on the bubble at the moment are new dramas All American and Roswell, New Mexico. The network also hasn't premiered the sixth season of The 100 or the new dramedy In the Dark.

As previously announced, Jane the Virgin, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend and iZombie are ending this year with their respective current seasons.

"This season, we expanded our primetime schedule to six nights with the addition of Sunday - which has been an unqualified success for the network, our affiliates and our advertisers. In addition to growing our schedule across the week, we also continue to add more year-round programming. The early renewal of these signature CW series gives us a head start on laying out the 2019-2020 season, and this is just the beginning," said Mark Pedowitz, President, The CW. "These shows provide a strong foundation for our multi-platform programming strategy, and we look forward to building on this with even more returning and new shows as we approach the May upfront."