Thursday, January 30, 2020

ABC Gives Straight-to-Series Order to Drama 'The Big Sky' Created by David E. Kelley

Emmy winner David E. Kelley is officially returning to broadcast television for the upcoming 2020-21 season. Today, ABC has given a straight-to-series order to the original drama series The Big Sky created by Kelley based on the first novel in C.J. Box's Cassie Dewell series.

Private detective Cassie Dewell partners with ex-cop Jenny Hoyt on a search for two sisters who have been kidnapped by a truck driver on a remote highway in Montana. When they discover that these are not the only girls who have disappeared in the area, they must race against the clock to stop the killer before another woman is taken.

Kelley will executive produce with Box and Ross Fineman. 20th Century Fox Television and A+E Studios will produce.

The Cassie Dewell book series includes four novels published to date - The Highway (2013), Badlands (2015), Paradise Valley (2017) and The Bitterroots (2019).

The Big Sky marks Kelley's first series on a broadcast network since 2013's The Crazy Ones, which was cancelled after one season. Since then, he has focused in the premium cable and streaming space with HBO's Big Little Lies, Amazon's Goliath and Audience Network's Mr. Mercedes. His upcoming projects include the HBO limited series The Undoing, the Hulu limited series Nine Perfect Strangers and the Disney+ dramedy Big Shot.