Tuesday, December 22, 2020

FX Gives Series Order to Comedy 'Reservation Dogs' Created by Sterlin Harjo and Taika Waititi

FX has today given a series order to the original comedy series Reservation Dogs created by Sterlin Harjo (Barking Water) and Taika Waititi (Jojo Rabbit). 

The comedy follows four Native teenagers in rural Oklahoma who spend their days committing crime... and fighting it.

The comedy stars D'Pharaoh Woon-A-Tai, Devery Jacobs, Paulina Alexis and Lane Factor.

Guest stars in the pilot include Tamara Podemski, Zahn McClarnon, Macon Blair, Kirk Fox, Matty Cardarople, Dallas Goldtooth, Lil Mike and Funny Bone.

Harjo and Waititi wrote the pilot, which was directed by Harjo. They also will executive produce with Garrett Basch. FX Productions will produce.

"Sterlin Harjo draws deeply on his experiences as a Native Oklahoman to make Reservation Dogs a true-to-life and incredibly funny story of youth, courage and misadventures," said Nick Grad, President of Original Programming, FX Entertainment. "Taika Waititi lends his considerable talents to the series, helping Sterlin and their creative partner Garrett Basch produce a unique and original series we can't wait for audiences to see."

"As longtime friends, it was only natural that Taika and I found a project together, and what better than a show that celebrates the complementary storytelling styles of our indigenous communities - mine in Oklahoma and Taika's in Aotearoa," added Harjo. "We're thrilled by the opportunity to tell the Reservation Dogs' story with our amazing cast and crew, Garrett Basch, and the whole team at FX."