Thursday, January 14, 2021

OWN Renews 'Queen Sugar' for Season 6

OWN has today renewed its original drama series Queen Sugar for a sixth season. The renewal comes a month ahead of the drama's return for its fifth season.

The 10-episode fifth season of the drama premieres on Tuesday, February 16 at 8/7c.

The drama stars Rutina Wesley, Dawn-Lyen Gardner, Kofi Siriboe, Omar Dorsey, Nicholas L. Ashe, Ethan Hutchison, Bianca Lawson, Henry G. Sanders, Walter Perez and Tina Lifford.

Ava DuVernay created the drama, with Anthony Sparks serving as showrunner. They executive produce with Oprah Winfrey and Melissa Carter. Warner Bros. Television, Harpo Films and Array Filmworks produce.

"What a joy and an honor to continue the stories of Queen Sugar with our partners at OWN and Warner Bros.," said DuVernay. "On behalf of every producer, editor, costumer, grip, writer, cast member and all departments involved in making this series, we're delighted to delve into a sixth season and to bring our beautiful audience more of the Bordelon family."