Friday, April 23, 2021

CBS Renews 'NCIS: Los Angeles' for Season 13; Gives Series Order to 'NCIS: Hawaii'

The NCIS franchise is expanding once more. CBS has today announced that the original drama series NCIS: Los Angeles has been renewed for a thirteenth season. Moreover, the broadcast network has given a series order to spinoff NCIS: Hawaii - the first series in the franchise with a female lead.

NCIS: Los Angeles stars Chris O'Donnell, LL Cool J, Daniela Rush, Eric Christian Olsen, Barrett Foa, Renée Felice Smith, Medalion Rahimi, Caleb Castille and Linda Hunt.

R. Scott Gemmill will return as showrunner for the upcoming season. CBS Studios and R. Scott Gemmill Productions produce.

Set in the Aloha State, NCIS: Hawaii follows the first female Special Agent in Charge of NCIS Pearl Harbor and her team as they balance duty to family and country, investigating high-stakes crimes involving military personnel, national security and the mysteries of the island itself.

Christopher Silber, Jan Nash and Matt Bosack created the drama. Larry Teng will direct the premiere. CBS Studios will produce.

The NCIS franchise launched in 2003 with the original series starring Mark Harmon - which was recently picked up for its nineteenth season. The franchise will continue to have three series on the air for CBS' upcoming 2021-22 broadcast season. The pickup for NCIS: Hawaii comes after it was announced NCIS: New Orleans would be ending with its current seventh season.

For the upcoming season, CBS is betting on new spinoffs from its most profitable franchises. In the next year, the network will be launching new spinoffs of NCIS (with NCIS: Hawaii), CSI (with CSI: Vegas) and FBI (with FBI: International).