Friday, July 2, 2021

'Lovecraft Country' Will Not Return for Season 2 on HBO

HBO has confirmed today that it will not be producing an additional season of its original drama series Lovecraft Country. The drama ended its 10-episode run on October 18, 2020.

HBO released the following statement: "We will not be moving forward with a second season of Lovecraft Country. We are grateful for the dedication and artistry of the gifted cast and crew, and to Misha Green, who crafted this groundbreaking series. And to the fans, thank you for joining us on this journey."

The drama starred Jurnee Smollett, Jonathan Majors, Aunjanue Ellis, Courtney B. Vance, Wunmi Mosaku, Abbey Lee, Jamie Chung, Jada Harris and Michael K. Williams.

Misha Green created the drama. She executive produced with J.J. Abrams, Jordan Peele, Ben Stephenson, Yann Demange, Bill Carraro and Daniel Sackheim. Warner Bros. Television, Bad Robot Productions and Monkeypaw Productions produced.

The first season was based on the novel by Matt Ruff, while all development on a potential second season was focused on an original story.