Thursday, September 2, 2021

Amazon Reveals Premiere Date for New Drama 'The Wheel of Time' Starring Rosamund Pike

Amazon has today announced the premiere date for its upcoming original drama series The Wheel of Time based on the series of novels by Robert Jordan.

The 8-episode first season will launch with its first three episodes on Friday, November 19. New episodes will be released weekly until its season finale on Friday, December 24. The drama has already been renewed for a second season.

Set in a sprawling, epic world where magic exists, but only women can use it. A member of the shadowy and influential organization Aes Sedai arrives in the small town of Two Rivers. There, she embarks on a dangerous, world-spanning journey with five young men and women, one of whom is prophesied to be the Dragon Reborn, who will either save or destroy humanity.

The expansive cast features Rosamund Pike, Joshua Stradowski, Marcus Rutherford, Zoe Robins, Barney Harris, Madeleine Madden, Daniel Henney, Michael McElhatton, Alvaro Morte, Hammed Animashaun, Alexandre Willaume, Johann Myers, Jennifer Cheon Garcia, Maria Doyle Kenney, Daryl McCormack, Narinder Samra, Priyanka Bose, Emmanuel Imani, Taylor Napier, Kate Fleetwood, Christopher Sciueref, Juliet Howland, Mandi Symonds, Lolita Chakrabarti, Michael Tuahine, David Sterne, Abdul Salis, Stuart Graham, Kae Alexander, Sophie Okonedo, Clare Perkins, Peter Franzen, Pasha Bocarie, Jennifer K. Preston and Darren Clarke.

Rafe Judkins developed the drama. He executive produces with Larry Mondragon, Rick Selvage, Ted Field, Mike Weber, Darren Lemke, Marigo Kehoe and director Uta Briesewitz. Amazon Studios, Sony Pictures Television, Red Eagle Entertainment and Radar Pictures produce.