Thursday, October 21, 2021

ABC Unveils Premiere Date for Limited Series 'Women of the Movement' Starring Adrienne Warren

ABC has today announced the premiere date for the upcoming original limited series Women of the Movement starring Tony Award winner Adrienne Warren.

The 6-episode series will air as a three week event in two-hour blocks each - starting on Thursday, January 6 at 8/7c. 

The series is based on the true story of Mamie Till-Mobley (Warren), who in 1955 risked her life to find justice after her son Emmett was brutally murdered in the Jim Crow South. Unwilling to let Emmett's murder disappear from the headlines, Mamie chose to bear her pain on the world's stage, emerging as an activist for justice and igniting the Civil Rights movement as we know it today.

The cast also features Tonya Pinkins, Cedric Joe, Ray Fisher, Chris Coy, Carter Jenkins, Julia McDermott and Glynn Turman.

Marissa Jo Cerar created the series. She executive produces with Aaron Kaplan, Dana Honor, Michael Lohmann, Shawn Carter, Jay Brown, Tyran "Ty Ty" Smith, Will Smith, James Lassiter, Rosanna Grace, Alex Foster, John Powers Middleton, David Clark and director Gina Prince-Bythewood. Kapital Entertainment, Roc Nation, Westbrook Entertainment, Serendipity Group, The Middleton Media Group and Mazo Partners produce.