Thursday, February 17, 2022

Showtime Sets Premiere Date for Anthology Drama 'The First Lady' Starring Viola Davis, Michelle Pfeiffer and Gillian Anderson

Showtime has today announced the premiere date for its upcoming original anthology drama series The First Lady starring Viola Davis (Fences), Michelle Pfeiffer (French Exit) and Gillian Anderson (The Crown).

The 10-episode first season will debut on Sunday, April 17 at 9/8c.

The series is a revelatory reframing of American leadership, told through the lens of the women at the heart of the White House. In the government's East Wing, many of history's most impactful and world-changing decisions have been hidden from view, made by America's charismatic, complex and dynamic First Ladies. The series will peel back the curtain on the personal and political lives of three unique, enigmatic women and their families, tracing their journeys to Washington, dipping into their pasts and following them beyond the White House into their greatest moments. Through interweaving storylines so intimate it's as if the White House walls are talking, the first season focuses on the enlightening lives of Michelle Obama (Davis), Betty Ford (Pfeiffer) and Eleanor Roosevelt (Anderson).

In addition to Davis, Pfeiffer and Anderson, the cast also features Kiefer Sutherland, Aaron Eckhart, Dakota Fanning, Regina Taylor, Lily Rabe, Jayme Lawson, O-T Fagbenle, Judy Greer, Ellen Burstyn, Jackie Earle Haley, Maria Dizzia, Kate Mulgrew, Kristine Froseth, Rhys Wakefield, Lexi Underwood, Derek Cecil, Aya Cash, Jake Picking, Cayden Boyd, Marc Hills, Ben Cook, Leslie Rodriguez Kritzer, Thomas E. Sullivan, Patrice Johnson Chevannes, Saniyya Sidney, Julian DeNiro, Evan Parke, Gloria Reuben, Ryan Jamaal Swain, Rosalind Chao, Michael Potts, Donna Lynne Champlin, Paul Wilson, Eliza Scanlen, Cailee Spaeny, Clea DuVall, Charlie Plummer and Jeremy Bobb.

Aaron Cooley created the series, with Susanne Bier directing the entire first season. They executive produce with Davis, Julius Tennon, Andrew Wang, Cathy Schulman, Pavlina Hatoupis, Alyson Feltes, Jeff Gaspin and Brad Kaplan. Lionsgate Television, JuVee Productions, Welle Entertainment, Gaspin Media and Link Entertainment produce.