Thursday, July 21, 2022

Amazon Renews 'The Wheel of Time' for Season 3

During the drama's presentation at Comic-Con this evening, Amazon renewed its original drama series The Wheel of Time for a third season. The renewal comes months ahead of the second season's debut - with a firm premiere date set to be announced later.

The drama stars Rosamund Pike, Daniel Henney, Zoë Robins, Madeleine Madden, Josha Stradowski and Marcus Rutherford.

Rafe Judkins developed the drama based on the series of novels by Robert Jordan. He executive produces with Larry Mondragon, Rick Selvage, Mike Weber, Ted Field, Darren Lemke and Marigo Kehoe. Pike serves as a producer. Amazon Studios and Sony Pictures Television produces.

The third season will be based on The Shadow Rising - the fourth book in Jordan's 14-volume series.

"I'm so thrilled that we'll be making a third season of The Wheel of Time," said Judkins. "The Shadow Rising has always been my favorite book in the series, so being able to bring it to television and introduce new audiences to the stories that made me fall in love with these books in the first place is such an honor, and something I've been working toward since I first pitched the show years and years ago."

"We are so excited to dive deeper into the world of The Wheel of Time with Rafe Judkins and his team, who have done such a marvelous job of honoring Robert Jordan's vision and delivering an incredible viewing experience to Prime Video customers," added Vernon Sanders, Head of Global Television, Amazon Studios. "Season one resonated with the most loyal of Jordan devotees, as well as the uninitiated, who were experiencing this incredible world for the first time, proving this is a show that truly stands out in the genre space. We couldn't be happier to give fans more reasons to be excited about the show and bring more The Wheel of Time to our customers worldwide."