Monday, August 1, 2022

The CW's 'The Flash' to End After 9 Seasons

The CW has today announced that the upcoming ninth season of its original drama series The Flash will be its last. The drama will conclude with 13 episodes in 2023 - the shortest season of the drama's series run.

The drama stars Grant Gustin, Candice Patton, Danielle Panabaker, Danielle Nicolet, Kayla Compton, Brandon McKnight and Jesse L. Martin.

The final season announcement was expected after series lead Grant Gustin signed a one-year deal earlier this year to return for Season 9 but capped his involved at 15 episodes. The 13-episode ninth season is the first not to be featured on The CW's fall schedule. Original cast members Candice Patton and Danielle Panabaker also closed deals to return for the now final season. Jesse L. Martin is expected to only be a recurring guest star. The amount of episodes he'll appear in will be based on whether NBC picks up his drama pilot The Irrational - which has him cast in first position.

"Nine seasons! Nine years of saving Central City while taking audiences on an emotional journey full of heart, humor, and spectacle. And now, Barry Allen has reached the starting gate for his last race," said Eric Wallace, the drama's executive producer and showrunner. "So many amazing people have given their talents, time, and love to bring this wonderful show to life each week. So, as we get ready to honor the show's incredible legacy with our exciting final chapter, I want to say thank you to our phenomenal cast, writers, producers, and crew over the years who helped make The Flash such an unforgettable experience for audiences around the world."