Monday, October 31, 2022

The CW Cancels 'Stargirl' After 3 Seasons

The CW has today announced that the current third season of its original drama series Stargirl will be its last. New episodes will continue to air on Wednesdays until the series finale on December 7.

The drama stars Brec Bassinger, Luke Wilson, Yvette Monreal, Anjelika Washington, Cameron Gellman, Trae Romano, Hunter Sansone, Meg DeLacy, Alkoya Brunson, Neil Hopkins, Joy Osmanski, Amy Smart and Joel McHale.

Geoff Johns created the drama based on the DC Comics characters. He executive produces with Greg Berlanti and Sarah Schechter. Warner Bros. Television, Berlanti Productions and Mad Ghost Productions produce.

"Stargirl has always held a special place in my heart for many reasons," said Johns. "With all the brewing changes at the network, we were aware this was possibly the last season, so we wrote with that in mind and have delivered what I believe to be the best season of Stargirl yet, with complete creative closure. The cast and crew are extraordinary, and I'd like to thank them for helping me bring this series to life. Brec embodied Courtney in every way possible - with grace, strength and humor - exceeding my wildest expectations. I am grateful to WBTV and The CW for giving us a home to tell this story and to honor my beloved late sister, and I'm beyond thankful to the press and fans who have always championed us for three amazing seasons. Most series never get this far. We couldn't be more proud of our show and the fan community it's built."

"Getting to play Stargirl and be a part of the DC Universe has been the greatest honor, and I am so grateful for every moment of it," added Bassinger. "I would like to thank our fearless leader Geoff Johns, along with WBTV, The CW, the cast and crew of Stargirl, and of course, the fans. Thank you. This show will forever live in my heart."