Monday, January 30, 2023

AppleTV+ Renews 'Acapulco' for Season 3

AppleTV+ has today renewed its original comedy series Acapulco for a third season. Production on the 10-episode third season will commence this spring.

The comedy stars Eugenio Derbez, Enrique Arrizon, Fernando Carsa, Damián Alcázar, Camila Perez, Chord Overstreet, Vanessa Bauche, Regina Reynoso, Raphael Alejandro, Jessica Collins, Rafael Cebrián, Carlos Corona and Regina Orozco.

Austin Winsberg, Eduardo Cisneros and Jason Shuman developed the comedy inspired by the film How to Be a Latin Lover. Sam Laybourne will succeed Chris Harris as showrunner for the upcoming third season. Winsberg, Cisneros, Shuman and Laybourne executive produce with Derbez, Jay Karas, Ben Odell, Eric Tannenbaum, Kim Tannenbaum and Jason Wang. Lionsgate Television, 3Pas Studios, Zihuatanejo Productions and The Tannenbaum Company produce.

"We at 3Pas Studios are thankful to AppleTV+, the perfect home for Acapulco, along with our production partner Lionsgate, filmmakers and cast and crew," said Derbez. "We have always believed that the stories we tell about our communities and cultures can resonate with global audiences, so crank up the AC, it's about to get a lot hotter at Las Colinas Resort."

"We've seen an overwhelming response from audiences all over the world who have fallen in love with Acapulco," added Morgan Wandell, Head of International Programming, AppleTV+. "Eugenio, Austin, Ben, Eric, Kim and the talented cast and crew behind Acapulco have created a feel-good show that has a lot of heart, emotion and laughs, and we can't wait to bring even more of that into season three."