Thursday, February 1, 2024

FX Orders Limited Series 'Say Nothing' Based on the Novel by Patrick Radden Keefe

FX has today given a series order to the original limited series Say Nothing based on the novel by Patrick Radden Keefe. The season will produce nine episodes.

Spanning four decades, the series will explore the tumultuous period in Northern Ireland known as The Troubles. The series launches with the shocking disappearance of Jean McConville, a single mother of ten who was abducted from her home in 1972 and never seen alive again. But McConville was only one of many others who became known collectively as The Disappeared.

Through the eyes of various IRA members, including sisters Dolours and Marian Price - young women who transformed into magnetic symbols of radical politics, Brendan Hughes - a tight-lipped but conflicted military strategist, and Gerry Adams - a savvy political operator who would go on to negotiate peace but ultimately deny his involvement with the IRA, the series will unpack the extremes some people will go to within a civil rights movement as they pursue their ideals, the mystery surrounding The Disappeared, the cost of silence, and the way society mends - or doesn't - after a long and bloody conflict.

The series will star Lola Petticrew as Dolours Price, Hazel Doupe as Marian Price, Anthony Boyle as Brendan Hughes, Josh Finan as Gerry Adams, and Maxine Peake as adult Dolours Price.

Josh Zetumer developed the series. He will executive produce with Keefe, Nina Jacobson, Brad Simpson, Edward McDonnell, Monica Levinson and director Michael Lennox. FX Productions and Color Force will produce.