Friday, April 5, 2024

NBC Cancels 'Quantum Leap' After Two Seasons

NBC has today decided to cancel its original drama series Quantum Leap after two seasons. The drama completed its 31-episode run on February 20, 2024.

The series was a follow-up to the drama of the same name that aired for five seasons - also on NBC - between March 1989 and May 1993. The original series was created by Donald P. Bellisario and starred Scott Bakula and Dean Stockwell.

The new series starred Raymond Lee, Caitlin Bassett, Mason Alexander Park, Nanrisa Lee, Peter Gadiot, Eliza Taylor and Ernie Hudson.

Steve Lilien and Bryan Wynbrandt developed the follow-up series, with Martin Gero and Dean Georgaris serving as co-showrunners. All four executive produced with Deborah Pratt, Chris Grismer and Alex Berger. Universal Television, Dean Georgaris Entertainment and Quinn's House produced.

Today's decisions marks the first cancellation NBC has made amongst its current drama slate. The broadcast network has already renewed seven dramas for additional seasons - Chicago Fire, Chicago Med, Chicago P.D., Found, The Irrational, Law & Order and Law & Order: SVU. Only one drama is still awaiting word on its future now - Law & Order: Organized Crime. Furthermore, NBC has already given series orders to two new dramas for the 2024-25 season - Dr. Wolf starring Zachary Quinto and The Hunting Party