Friday, June 28, 2024

Emmy Predictions 2024 - Who Will Likely Be Nominated for Supporting Actor in a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie?

From June 13 to 24, 2024, voting took place for The 76th Primetime Emmy Awards. As such, it's fun to look at which actors and shows have the best chances of actually being nominated this year. So, these are my predictions for which performers will be nominated for Supporting Actor in a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie.

Performers most likely to be nominated:
  1. Robert Downey Jr. for HBO's The Sympathizer
  2. Jonathan Bailey for Showtime's Fellow Travelers
  3. Lewis Pullman for AppleTV+'s Lessons in Chemistry
  4. Johnny Flynn for Netflix's Ripley
  5. John Hawkes for HBO's True Detective: Night Country
  6. Joe Keery for FX's Fargo
  7. Tom Goodman-Hill for Netflix's Baby Reindeer
Serious threats that could break through:
  1. Treat Williams, Joe Mantello, Russell Tovey and Chris Chalk for FX's Feud: Capote vs. The Swans
  2. Finn Bennett and Christopher Eccleston for HBO's True Detective: Night Country
  3. Barry Keoghan, Anthony Boyle, Ncuti Gatwa, Branden Cook, Josiah Cross and Nate Mann for AppleTV+'s Masters of the Air
  4. Hugh Grant for HBO's The Regime
  5. Sam Spruell, Lamorne Morris, Dave Foley and David Rysdahl for FX's Fargo
  6. Donald Sutherland, Dennis Quaid, Barry Pepper, Grantham Coleman and Forrest Goodluck for Paramount+'s Lawmen: Bass Reeves
  7. Clive Owen and Harris Dickinson for FX's A Murder at the End of the World
  8. Jack Huston and Brian Tee for Amazon's Expats
  9. Pierce Brosnan and Jesse Williams for HBO's The Great Lillian Hall
  10. Rufus Sewell for Netflix's Scoop
  11. Toan Le, Fred Nguyen Khan and Duy Nguyen for HBO's The Sympathizer
  12. Jelani Alladin, Noah J. Ricketts and Linus Roache for Showtime's Fellow Travelers
  13. Eliot Sumner and Maurizio Lombardi for Netflix's Ripley
  14. Taylor Kitsch for Netflix's Painkiller
  15. Patrick Walker for AppleTV+'s Lessons in Chemistry
  16. Ron Cephas Jones for National Geographic's Genius: MLK/X
Some considerable long-shots:
  1. Hamish Linklater, Glenn Morshower and Will Harrison for AppleTV+'s Manhunt
  2. Noah Jupe, Thibault de Montalembert, Eddie Marsan, Daniel Mays and Assaad Bouab for AppleTV+'s Franklin
  3. Ted Levine, Héctor Elizondo, Jason Gray-Stanford, James Purefoy and Austin Scott for Peacock's Mr. Monk's Last Case: A Monk Movie
  4. Bill Camp, Tom Pelphrey and Aml Ameen for Netflix's A Man in Full
  5. Tony Curran for Starz's Mary & George
  6. Josh Hartnett and Rory Culkin for Netflix's Black Mirror
  7. Josh Charles and Dali Benssalah for FX's The Veil
  8. Denis O'Hara and Dominic Burgess for FX's American Horror Story: Delicate
  9. Aiyana Goodfellow, Javon "Wanna" Walton and Ezra Faroque Khan for Hulu's Under the Bridge
  10. Zach Gilford and Michael Trucco for Netflix's The Fall of the House of Usher
  11. McKinley Belcher III for Netflix's Eric
  12. Lior Ashkenazi, Henry Lloyd-Hughes, Amit Rahav and Sam Woolf for Hulu's We Were the Lucky Ones
  13. Jake Lacy and Conor Merrigan-Turner for Peacock's Apples Never Fall
  14. Mark Ruffalo, Hugh Laurie and Lars Eidinger for Netflix's All the Light We Cannot See
  15. Timothy Olyphant, Dennis Quaid, Jharrel Jerome, Jim Gaffigan and Phaldut Sharma for Max's Full Circle
Colorful oddities that still have an outside chance:
  1. Stephen Fry and Clifton Collins Jr. for Amazon's Red, White and Royal Blue
  2. Lance Reddick, Jason Clarke and Jake Lacy for Showtime's The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial
  3. Will Ferrell and Jason Schwartzman for Hulu's Quiz Lady
  4. Luke Kirby for Peacock's Dr. Death
  5. Vincent D'Onofrio and Chaske Spencer for Disney+'s Echo
  6. Harvey Keitel and Jonas Nay for Peacock's The Tattooist of Auschwitz
  7. Jonny Weldon for Netflix's One Day
  8. Jim Gaffigan for Netflix's Unfrosted
  9. Jason Isaacs, Will Chase and Lior Raz for AppleTV+'s The Crowded Room
  10. Luke James, Jeremy Bobb and Joshua J. Williams III for Amazon's Them: The Scare

The nominations for The 76th Primetime Emmy Awards will be announced on Wednesday, July 17.