Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Showtime Renews 'Homeland' & 'Masters of Sex'

Today, Showtime has renewed drama series Homeland and Masters of Sex for their fourth and second seasons respectively. Both series, currently airing on Sunday nights, are set to return in 2014 with 12 one-hour episodes. The announcement was made by David Nevins, President of Entertainment at Showtime.

"Homeland continues to prove its strength for Showtime, and is one of television's most exciting, provocative and widely-discussed shows. It has grown its audience significantly in each of its three seasons," said Nevins. "The critical and audience reaction to Masters of Sex since its great launch has been incredibly gratifying. It's a privilege to get to work with such talented and creative people as Alex Gansa and Michelle Ashford, as well as their tremendous casts. They have each created truly original shows, with distinctive voices that are among the most admired series on television."

The network's No. 1 rated series, Homeland continues its growth trajectory in season three with 6.5 million weekly viewers, up 26 percent from its second season in the same time frame (vs. 5.1 million). Developed for American television by Alex Gansa and Howard Gordon, and based on the original Israeli series Prisoners of War by Gideon Raff, Homeland stars Emmy and Golden Globe Award winner Claire Danes, Emmy winner Damian Lewis and Emmy and Tony Award winner Mandy Patinkin. Homeland has been honored with a number of major awards for the series and its stars across a variety of categories in its first two seasons including Emmy and Golden Globe Awards for Best Television Drama, as well as a presitgious Peabody Award. The series also stars Morena Baccarin, Rupert Friend, Sarita Choudhoury, Tracy Letts, Jackson Pace, Morgan Saylor and F. Murray Abraham. Along with Gansa and Gordon, the executive producers for season three are Gideon Raff, Chip Johannessen, Alexander Cary, Henry Bromell, Avi Nir and Ran Telem. The series is produced by FOX 21.

Masters of Sex currently averages 5.4 million weekly viewers in its freshman season, up 33 percent from Homeland's first season in the same time frame. The series stars Michael Sheen and Lizzy Caplan, who portray real-life human sexuality pioneers, William Masters and Virginia Johnson. The series chronicles their unusual lives, romance and pop culture trajectory. The series is an adaptation of Thomas Maier's book "Masters of Sex: The Life and Times of William Masters and Virginia Johnson, The Couple Who Taught America How to Love." The pilot episode was directed by Academy Award nominee John Madden, who also serves as executive producer. The series also stars Caitlin Fitzgerald, Nicholas D'Agosto and Teddy Sears. Emmy and Golden Globe Award winning actor Beau Bridges and Emmy Award winner Margo Martindale also appear. Masters of Sex was created and executive produced by Michelle Ashford. The series is executive produced by Carl Beverly, Sarah Timberman and Judith Verno. Michael Sheen and Tammy Rosen serve as producers. Masters of Sex is produced by Sony Pictures Television.