Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Syfy Renews '12 Monkeys' for Season 3

Syfy has renewed its original drama series 12 Monkeys for a third season, it was announced today. The new season will likely debut in 2017 and will include 10 episodes - down from the 13 episodes of the first and second seasons.

Based on the 1995 film of the same name, the drama follows a weary time traveler from 2044 who teams up with a virologist in 2016 in order to save the world from the Army of the 12 Monkeys, who release a plague that kills off most of humanity in an attempt to destroy all of time.

The drama stars Aaron Stanford, Amanda Schull, Kirk Acevedo, Todd Stashwick, Emily Hampshire and Barbara Sukowa.

Terry Matalas and Travis Fickett developed the series. They serve as executive producers with David Grossman, Charles Roven and Richard Suckle. Universal Cable Productions and Atlas Entertainment produce.