Thursday, January 12, 2017

FX Renews 'American Horror Story' for Seasons 8 and 9

During its day at the Television Critics Association's winter press tour, FX renewed hit anthology series American Horror Story for an additional two seasons - which means it'll stay on the network through at least 2019.

The two-season renewal for American Horror Story today is in addition to the previously announced seventh season (which will debut later this year). That means the show has been renewed through Season 9. It was also reported today that the theme and setting of the seventh season will once again be shrouded in secrecy.

The cast for the most recent season included Kathy Bates, Sarah Paulson, Cuba Gooding Jr., Lily Rabe, Andre Holland, Denis O'Hare, Wes Bentley, Evan Peters, Cheyenne Jackson, Adina Porter and Angela Bassett.

Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk created the series. They executive produce with Tim Minear, Dante Di Loreto, James Wong, Jennifer Salt, Bradley Buecker and Alexis Martin Woodall.

"American Horror Story launched the modern limited series revolution and - as evidence by the most recent installment Roanoke - it remains as vital today as when Murder House stunned audiences six years ago," said John Landgraf, CEO, FX. "Each new chapter is a cultural event, beloved for every new twist in imagery, style, cast and plot. We are thrilled that Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk and the entire creative team will continue to deliver the groundbreaking, celebrated American Horror Story for years to come."

"When Ryan and Brad came to us seven years ago with the idea for a horror series structured as an anthology, with a group of actors returning year after year, in different roles, settings and time periods, we were in awe of the sheer originality and ambition of their vision," said Dana Walden and Gary Newman, Fox Television Group chairman and CEOs. "They've since delivered six fantastic installments which have rightfully attracted millions of viewers, critical raves and dozens of awards. Ryan and Brad are to be congratulated on this remarkable multi-year pickup and we are grateful to John Landgraf and our partners at FX for their extraordinary support."