Monday, January 30, 2017

OWN Picks Up 'House of Payne' Spinoff 'The Paynes'; Orders More 'The Haves and the Have Nots' & 'If Loving You Is Wrong'

OWN is continuing its major partnership with Tyler Perry. Today, the network has announced a series pickup for new comedy The Paynes, a spinoff of Perry's House of Payne (which aired on TBS). The network has also ordered more episodes of Perry's The Haves and the Have Nots and If Loving You Is Wrong.

The order for new comedy The Paynes is for 38 episodes. This is the second spinoff from House of Payne, following Meet the Browns which also aired on TBS. 

The comedy meets back up with Curtis and Ella Payne (LaVan Davis and Cassi Davis reprising their roles) who are trying to enjoy their retirement in Florida only to get roped into a real estate deal that will tumble their lives like clothes in a dryer.

The cast also includes Jackée Harry, Stephanie Charles, Markice Moore, JD McCrary and Sanai Victoria.

The comedy is written, directed and produced by Tyler Perry. Production has already begun in Atlanta for a 2018 premiere.

The Haves and the Have Nots was the first breakout scripted hit for the network and is still very successful in the ratings. The network today has ordered 44 additional episodes of the drama.

Now airing its fifth season, the drama stars John Schneider, Tika Sumpter, Crystal Fox, Renee Lawless, Tyler Lepley, Aaron O'Connell, Peter Parros, Angela Robinson, Gavin Houston, Jon Chaffin, Brett Davis, Presilah Nunez, Danielle Deadwyler, Nicholas James and Nick Sagar.

If Loving You Is Wrong has also proven to be a success for OWN. The additional episode pickup today is for 18 episodes. The drama returns with new episodes on Tuesday, March 21 at 9/8c.

The drama stars Amanda Clayton, Matt Cook, Edwina Findley, Heather Hemmens, Zulay Henao, April Parker Jones, Eltony Williams, Aiden Turner, Octavio Pizano, Charles Malik Whitfield, Denzel Wells and Dawan Owens.

However, today isn't completely full of good news. OWN has also announced that Perry's two comedies on the network, Love Thy Neighbor and For Better or Worse, will end their runs after their upcoming seasons. Love Thy Neighbor will premiere its fourth and final season on Saturday, March 4 with back-to-back episodes starting at 9/8c. For Better or Worse will begin its sixth and final season on Saturday, June 10 with back-to-back episodes starting at 9/8c. Both series will air through 2017 with 22 and 20 episodes respectively.

Love Thy Neighbor stars Palmer Williams Jr., Patrice Lovely, Kendra C. Johnson, Andre Hall, Jonathan Chase, Darmirra Brunson, Tony Grant and Leigh-Ann Rose.

For Better or Worse stars Tasha Smith, Michael Jai White, Crystle Stewart, Jason Olive, Kent Faulcon, Kiki Haynes, Cocoa Brown and Brad James.

"Tyler has been an incredible collaborator, a great partner and has an unprecedented track record of success with his hit scripted series," said Erik Logan, President, OWN. "Tyler's shows are must see TV for his loyal audience and we are excited to offer up a brand-new comedy and more episodes of their favorite Tyler dramas on OWN. We also would like to thank the entire casts of both Love Thy Neighbor and For Better or Worse who have given us loads of laughs over the years. Both series have had great runs and we appreciate everyone's hard work and dedication."