Wednesday, July 26, 2017

OWN Renews 'Queen Sugar' for Season 3

OWN has renewed its original drama series Queen Sugar created by Ava DuVernay for a third season. It was also announced today that DuVernay has signed a first-look deal with Oprah Winfrey's Harpo Films for TV and digital media. 

The drama stars Rutina Wesley, Dawn-Lyen Gardner, Kofi Siriboe, Omar Dorsey, Dondre Whitfield, Bianca Lawson, Timon Kyle Durrett, Nicholas L. Ashe, Ethan Hutchison and Tina Lifford.

Ava DuVernay created the drama. She executive produces with Oprah Winfrey, Melissa Carter and Monica Macer. Warner Horizon Television and Harpo Films produce.

"I'm so proud of Ava and her ability as a filmmaker to challenge the status quo and push for inclusiveness onscreen and behind the camera," said Winfrey, CEO of OWN and Harpo Films. "I love, love, love the work we have been able to create so far. I am looking forward to developing many more meaningful projects together."

"There is fresh air and room to roam," said DuVernay. "There is an artist-driven atmosphere and an intention to share stories that nourish. There is a spirit of inclusivity and imagination moving at all times. This is the new era of OWN. I'm thrilled to continue to collaborate with Ms. Winfrey as we expand the scope of our storytelling. And I feel fortunate to be a small part of this network at such a wonderful time in its evolution."