Friday, January 5, 2018

FX Gives Series Order to 'Sons of Anarchy' Spinoff 'Mayans MC'

During its presentation at the Television Critics Association's winter press tour, FX gave a series order to original drama series Mayans MC, a spinoff of the hit drama Sons of Anarchy. The first season will include 10 episodes, which debut in Fall 2018.

Set in a post Jax Teller world, the drama follows EZ Reyes who is fresh out of prison and a prospect in the Mayan MC charter on the Cali/Mexi border. Now EZ must carve out his new outlaw identity in a town where he once was the golden boy who had the American Dream within his grasp.

The drama stars JD Pardo, Edward James Olmos, Sarah Bolger, Clayton Cardenas, Richard Cabral, Michael Irby, Raoul Trujillo, Antonio Jaramillo, Carla Baratta and Danny Pino.

Kurt Sutter and Elgin James created the drama. Sutter executive produces with director Norberto Barba. James is a co-executive producer. FX Productions and Fox 21 Television Studios produce.

"Kurt Sutter is a master storyteller and Mayans MC has the raw energy and intensity that are hallmarks of his signature style," said Nick Grad, President of Original Programming, FX Networks. "Thanks to Kurt, co-creator Elgin James and this amazing cast, Mayans MC builds on the legacy of Sons of Anarchy, taking it in a thrilling new direction that we can't wait for the world to see."