Monday, May 14, 2018

DC Universe Orders 13 Episodes of Drama 'Doom Patrol' from Greg Berlanti

DC Universe has today given a series order to the original live-action drama Doom Patrol based on the iconic DC Comics characters. The first season will feature 13 episodes, with some of the characters being introduced in the upcoming drama Titans.

The drama is a reimagining of one of DC's most beloved group of outcast superheroes: Robotman, Negative Man, Elasti-Girl and Crazy Jane and led by modern-day mad scientist Dr. Niles Caulder (The Chief). The Doom Patrol's members each suffered accidents that gave them superhuman abilities - but also left them scarred and disfigured. Traumatized and downtrodden, the team found purpose through The Chief, who brought them together to investigate the weirdest phenomena in existence - and to protect Earth from what they find. Part support group, part superhero team, the Doom Patrol is a band of super-powered freaks who fight for a world that wants nothing to do with them.

The drama picks up after the events of Titans with the new story finding the reluctant heroes in a place they never expected to be, called to action by Cyborg, who comes to them with a mission hard to refuse, but with a warning that is hard to ignore: their lives will never, ever be the same.

The cast includes Bruno Bichir as The Chief, April Bowlby as Elasti-Girl, Jake Michaels as Robotman and Dwain Murphy as Negative Man.

Jeremy Carver is writing the new drama. He will executive produce with Greg Berlanti, Sarah Schechter and Geoff Johns. Warner Bros. Television and Berlanti Productions will produce.