Wednesday, May 2, 2018

FOX Renews 'Empire' for Season 5

FOX has today renewed its original drama series Empire for a fifth season. It joins 9-1-1, The Gifted, The Orville and The Simpsons on the network's 2018-19 schedule.

In its fourth season, the drama stars Terrence Howard, Taraji P. Henson, Bryshere Y. Gray, Jussie Smollett, Trai Byers, Grace Byers, Gabourey Sidibe, Ta'Rhonda Jones, Serayah, Xzibit, Rumer Willis, Terrell Carter and Andre Royo.

Lee Daniels and Danny Strong created the drama. They executive produce with Brian Grazer, Francie Calfo, Ilene Chaiken, Sanaa Hamri, Brett Mahoney and Dennis Hammer. 20th Century Fox Television, Imagine Television, Lee Daniels Entertainment and Danny Strong Productions produce.

"Empire is as compelling, emotional and unpredictable as it ever was," said Michael Thorn, President, Fox Entertainment. "We are so proud of our amazing cast, led by Terrence and Taraji, who deliver powerful performances week after week. We'd also like to thank our tremendous creative team - Lee, Danny, Brett, Ilene, Sanaa, Brian and Francie - whose inspired storytelling continues to create the unforgettable, jaw-dropping OMG moments that have always been signature to Empire."