Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Amazon Orders 13 Episodes of Limited Series 'Daisy Jones & the Six' Produced by Reese Witherspoon

Amazon has today given a series order to the original limited series Daisy Jones & the Six executive produced by Reese Witherspoon (Big Little Lies, Little Fires Everywhere). The season will feature 13 episodes, though no premiere date window was announced today.

Based on Taylor Jenkins Reid's upcoming book of the same name, the series centers on a fictional rock band in the 1970s and follows their rise through the ranks of the L.A. music scene and beyond, eventually becoming one of the most legendary bands in the world.

Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber (The Disaster Artist) developed the series and will serve as showrunners. They executive produce with Witherspoon, Lauren Neustadter and Brad Mendelsohn. Reid will be credited as a producer. Amazon Studios, Hello Sunshine and Circle of Confusion will produce.

"When I heard Hello Sunshine was developing Daisy Jones & the Six, I tracked down a copy right away and devoured it in one sitting. I loved it so much I had to take it off the market and bring it to Amazon Studios," said Jennifer Salke, Head of Amazon Studios. "I was immediately struck by how perfectly it fit into our overall approach of bringing passionate creators and entertaining, compelling content to our Prime Video audience. Reese, Lauren and I are kindred spirits!"

"As soon as I started reading Daisy Jones & the Six, I immediately fell head over heels in love with it, and I'm thrilled to be bringing it to the screen with Amazon and Jen Salke, whose passionate pursuit of the material spoke volumes," said Witherspoon. "With Neustadter and Weber, two writers I deeply admire, stewarding this project, I am so confident that Daisy and her band's journey toward finding their voice will leave just as permanent a mark with viewers around the world as it did with me."