Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Netflix Announces Premiere Date for 'The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance'

Netflix has today announced the premiere date for the upcoming original series The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance - a prequel series to The Jim Henson Company's groundbreaking 1982 feature film.

All ten episodes will be available on Friday, August 30.

Set many years before the events of the movie, the series returns to the world of Thra with an all new adventure. When three Gelfling discover the horrifying secret behind the Skeksis' power, they set out on an epic journey to ignite the fires of rebellion and save their world.

The voice cast features Taron Egerton, Anya Taylor-Joy, Nathalie Emmanuel, Caitriona Balfe, Helena Bonham Carter, Harris Dickinson, Natalie Dormer, Eddie Izzard, Theo James, Toby Jones, Shazad Latif, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Mark Strong, Alicia Vikander, Harvey Fierstein, Mark Hamill, Ralph Ineson, Jason Isaacs, Keegan-Michael Key, Ólafur Darri Ólafsson, Simon Pegg, Andy Samberg, Donna Kimball, Alice Dinnean, Louise Gold, Neil Sterenberg and Victor Yerrid.

Louis Leterrier (Now You See Me) directs the series. He executive produces with Lisa Henson and Halle Stanford. The Jim Henson Company produces in association with Netflix.

Jeffrey Addiss, Will Matthews and Javier Grillo-Marxuach are writing the series. They co-executive produce with Blanca Lista.