Tuesday, February 11, 2020

IFC Renews 'Year of the Rabbit' for Season 2

IFC and Channel 4 have today renewed their original comedy series Year of the Rabbit for a second season. The comedy will return with six new episodes in 2021.

The renewal comes ahead of the series debut on IFC - Wednesday, February 19 at 10:30/9:30c.

The comedy stars Matt Berry, Freddie Fox, Susan Wokoma, David Dawson, Ann Mitchell, Alistair Petrie, Matthew Holness, Craig Parkinson, Keely Hawes, Sally Phillips and Jill Halfpenny.

Andy Riley and Kevin Cecil created the comedy. They executive produce with Berry, Ben Farrell, Toby Stevens and director Ben Taylor. Objective Fiction produces.

"I'm looking forward to Inspector Rabbit returning back to our screens to fight crime in the past," said Berry. "This time he'll deal with all sorts of unearthly forces, including the Royal Family! Victorian London is presently very much where it's at."

"Ever since he guest starred on Portlandia, we knew we wanted more Matt Berry on IFC," added Blake Callaway, Executive Director, IFC and SundanceTV. "An often-drunk, frequently filthy, and always foul-mouthed Victorian detective hits the perfect 'slightly off' spot."

"Year of the Rabbit is one the most glorious, gutsy and audacious comedies on TV, made by a fantastic cast and crew who relish every detail," added Fiona McDermott, Head of Comedy, Channel 4. "We're thrilled to welcome it back. Here's to more absurd capers in the dark underbelly of Victorian London."