Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Showtime Reveals Premiere Date for Limited Series 'The Comey Rule' Starring Jeff Daniels and Brendan Gleeson

Showtime has today announced the premiere date for the upcoming original limited series The Comey Rule starring Jeff Daniels and Brendan Gleeson.

The 4-part limited series will air in two, 2-hour blocks across consecutive nights - Sunday, September 27 at 9/8c. and Monday, September 28 at 9/8c.

The series is an immersive, behind-the-headlines account of the historically turbulent events surrounding the 2016 presidential election and its aftermath, which divided a nation. Two powerful figures - Donald Trump (Gleeson) and James Comey (Daniels), whose strikingly different personalities, ethics and loyalties - are put on a collision course. Down the corridors of power, the decision-makers struggle to apply old norms to a dramatic new paradigm in the face of Russia's deep and unprecedented penetration into American politics, with our nation's rule of law hanging in the balance. The actions in these historic months made the careers of some, destroyed the careers of others and helped shape the incendiary political landscape we live in today.

In addition to Daniels and Gleeson, the cast also features Holly Hunter, Michael Kelly, Jennifer Ehle, Scoot McNairy, Jonathan Banks, Oona Chaplin, Amy Seimetz, Steven Pasquale, Peter Coyote, Kingsley Ben-Adir, Steve Zissis, Shawn Doyle, Brian d'Arcy James, Dalmar Abuzeid, William Sadler, Richard Thomas, T.R. Knight, Joe Lo Truglio, Spencer Garrett, Michael Hyatt, Damon Gupton and Seann Gallagher.

Billy Ray developed and directed the series based on the novel A Higher Loyalty by Comey. He executive produces with Alex Kurtzman, Heather Kadin and Shane Salerno. CBS Television Studios, Home Run Productions, The Story Factory and Secret Hideout produce.