Tuesday, August 17, 2021

Lifetime Orders 'Flowers in the Attic' Prequel Limited Series

Lifetime has today given a series order to the four-part limited series Flowers in the Attic: The Origin based on the novel Garden of Shadows by Andrew Neiderman - which expands the world first introduced in the novels by V.C. Andrews and previously adapted as TV movies on Lifetime.

The prequel tells the story of the headstrong and determined Olivia Winfield, who is working alongside her beloved father when she finds herself unexpectedly wooed by one of the nation's most eligible bachelors, Malcolm Foxworth. After a whirlwind romance, Olivia finds herself as the mistress of the imposing Foxworth Hall, where she soon discovers that the fairytale life she expected has quickly become a nightmare. Under Malcolm's debonair exterior lies a dark heart, and a twisted evil lurks inside Foxworth Hall that will threaten Olivia's happiness and that of her children. Her attempts to keep them all safe ultimately push Olivia to become a most terrifying version of herself, leading to her inevitable - and notorious - decision to lock her grandchildren in the attic.

The limited series will star Jemima Rooper, Max Irons, Kelsey Grammer, Harry Hamlin, Kate Mulgrew, Paul Wesley, Alana Boden, Hannah Dodd, T'Shan Williams, Callum Kerry, Luke Fetherston, Buck Braithwaite, Jordan Peters, Evelyn Miller, Rawdat Quadri, Emmanuel Ogunjinmi, David Witts, Carla Woodcock and Peter Bramhill.

Paul Sciarrotta developed the series. He will executive produce with Jennie Snyder Urman, Joanna Klein, Zoë Rocha, Gary Pearl, Dan Angel and directors Declan O'Dwyer and Robin Sheppard. A+E Studios, CBS Studios, Sutton St. Productions, RubyRock Pictures and Aquarius Content produce.