Tuesday, April 2, 2024

ABC Renews '9-1-1' for Season 8

Ahead of its 100th episode on Thursday, ABC has today renewed its original drama series 9-1-1 for its eighth season. The drama will return to the broadcast network as part of its upcoming 2024-25 broadcast schedule.

The drama stars Angela Bassett, Peter Krause, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Oliver Stark, Kenneth Choi, Aisha Hinds, Ryan Guzman and Gavin McHugh.

Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk and Tim Minear created the drama. They executive produce with Bassett, Krause, John J. Gray, Brad Buecker, Kristen Reidel, Juan Carlos Coto and Lyndsey Beaulieu. 20th Television, Ryan Murphy Television and Brad Falchuk Teley-Vision.

The drama aired its first six seasons on FOX. It transitioned to ABC at the start of Season 7 - which premiered last month. It has only aired three episodes to date on its new network. However, it continued to pull in strong ratings - thus prompting the early renewal.

Today's renewal also means mega-producer Ryan Murphy will have two series on ABC for its 2024-25 season. The broadcast network previously gave a straight-to-series order to the original drama Dr. Odyssey which was created by Murphy and will star Joshua Jackson.