Thursday, April 13, 2017

OWN Sets Season 2 Premiere Date for 'Queen Sugar'

OWN has announced the second season premiere date for original drama series Queen Sugar created by Ava DuVernay today. The network has also unveiled the all-female directors set for the upcoming season.

Every episode of the drama's first season was directed by a woman. That will continue in the second season, which will feature Kat Chandler, DeMane Davis, Cheryl Dune, Aurora Guerrero and Amanda Marsalis.

OWN and Warner Bros. Television have also announced a new deal with Hulu that will make the streaming service the exclusive SVOD home for Queen Sugar. The first season will be available to stream beginning April 21.

The drama will return for its second season with a two-night event on June 20 and 21 at 10/9c. The new season will feature 16 episodes and be split into two halves, with the second set to return at a later date.

The drama stars Rutina Wesley, Dawn-Lyen Gardner, Kofi Siriboe, Omar Dorsey, Dondre Whitfield, Bianca Lawson, Timon Kyle Durrett, Greg Vaughan, Nicholas L. Ashe, Ethan Hutchison, Marycarmen Lopez and Tina Lifford.

Ava DuVernay developed the series based on the novel by Natalie Baszile. DuVernay executive produces with Oprah Winfrey and Melissa Carter. Warner Horizon Television and Harpo Films produce.