Thursday, August 16, 2018

E! Cancels 'The Royals' After Four Seasons

E! has today decided to cancel its original drama series The Royals after four seasons. The drama aired its final episode on May 13, 2018.

"E! will not be moving forward with another season of The Royals, which launched in 2015 as the network's first original scripted series," said E! in a statement. "Over four seasons, The Royals took viewers behind the palace gates on a scandalous journey filled with twists and turns. We are grateful to the cast and our producing partners at Lionsgate and Universal Cable Productions."

The cancellation comes after the December 2017 firing of series creator and showrunner Mark Schwahn following an investigation into sexual harassment allegations spanning more than a decade. Filming on the fourth season had allowed been completed by the time of his ouster.

The drama's fourth season starred Elizabeth Hurley, William Moseley, Alexandra Park, Jake Maskall, Tom Austen, Genevieve Gaunt and Max Brown.

Executive producers were Brian Robbins, Joe Davola and Shauna Phelan.